near Stirling summit

As spring bears down on us, I know lots of people are off on last minute missions to the hills before its all over. Am off soon to Mt Stirling to see whats on offer in Stanley Bowl. It reminded me of this nice little story from my friend Andrew from last spring.

“Below, one last drop before the long summer and dusty roads and work and endless heat, waiting for those cold fronts to push through off the southern ocean. Just before I drop, I feel on the cusp of height and gravity, a small, fleeting moment of grace. I wait a minute more, weightless and happy and alone and yet in company. The whole world below beckons, and I treasure the thought of those few minutes of turns and no time for any other thoughts, and then push off into that space and that moment. One last time”.